Call for Nominations: AAPB Distinguished Scientist Award

The AAPB Awards Committee invites AAPB members to submit nominations for the Distinguished Scientist Award to be presented at the AAPB's 49th Annual Meeting on April 11-14, 2018.

The Board approved the creation of the Distinguished Scientist Award to be presented annually "in recognition of an outstanding career and scientific contribution to the field of applied psychophysiology and biofeedback." This award recognizes an AAPB member who has advanced Biofeedback through a significant body of research conducted, as judged by publications, awards and peer reviews, and has made a major impact upon the field of study, both nationally and/or internationally. Nominees must hold a doctoral degree in a psychology, biomedical science, medicine, or other health-related field. Only AAPB members will be considered for this honor. Criteria for evaluation are:

  • Scientific importance of research discoveries
  • Mentorship of students, postdoctoral fellows, and new faculty
  • Continued impact on the field

The recipient of the Distinguished Scientist Award will be invited to give an address at the 2015 Annual Scientific Meeting; the date, time and topic of the presentation to be determined by the Program Committee Chair and the award recipient.

Candidates for this award are reviewed and recipients are determined by the AAPB Awards Committee. To nominate an individual who represents the purpose of the award please complete the online nomination form.

The Distinguished Scientist Award was created in 1995. Past awardees include:

1995                   Neal Miller, PhD
1996                   Niels Birbaumer, PhD
1997                   John Basmajian, MD
1998                   Edward Taub, PhD
1999                   Johann Stoyva, PhD and Tom Budzynski, PhD
2000                   Angele McGrady, PhD
2001                   Bernard T. Engel, PhD
2002                   Frank Andrasik, PhD
2003                   Edward Blanchard, PhD
2004                   M. Barry Sterman, PhD
2005                   Paul Lehrer, PhD
2006                   Joel Lubar, PhD
2007                   Susan Middaugh, PhD
2008                   Richard Gevirtz, PhD
2009                   John Arena, PhD
2010                   Alan Glaros, PhD
2011                   Steven Wolf, PhD, PTA, PT
2012                   Julian F. Thayer, PhD
2013                   Erik Peper, PhD
2014                   Steven Baskin, PhD
2015                   Estate Sokhadze, PhD
2016                   Lynda Thompson, PhD and Michael Thompson, MD
2017                   Ute Strehl, PhD

Nominations must be received by October 1, 2017. Award winners will be notified in January 2018. Nominate someone you know today!

Thank you for your time and consideration!

Follow pages/Association-for-Applied-Psychophysiology-and-Biofeedback/121999491198448 on Facebook
Follow AAPBiofeedback on Twitter
member login